EWF/IIW Manufacturers Certification System
for metalworking companies

The EWF MCS as a third party certification differentiates from others by:

  • Three main areas of certification: ISO 3834, ISO 14001, OHSAS 18001 (always related to welding and related technologies).
  • Using properly registered trained scheme assessors.
  • Implementing an operational structure so that certification will be consistent whenever the scheme rules are applied.


 Areas of Certification


Quality Management System QMS - ISO 3834

  • In accordance with the document EA-6/02 requirements.
  • EWF definition of specific requirements for the Assessors.
  • Assures the control and optimization of the welding and allied activities.

Operating with Environmental Management System EMS- ISO 14001

  • In accordance with the ISO 14001 requirements.
  • Covers welding and allied activities applicable to the Company's operations.
  • For manufacturers with proved controlled and optimized activities only.

Operating with a Health and Safety Management Scheme H&SMS – OHSAS 18001

  • In accordance with the OHSAS 18001 requirements.
  • Covers welding and allied activities applicable to the Company's operations.
  • Applied only to manufacturers with appropriately controlled and optimized activities.

Check the list of Manufactures that have been certified under the EWF/IIW MCS here.
Check the list of ANBCCs approved to award the EWF/IIW Manufacturers Certificates here.


(Doc. EWF 639 / IAB 340)1

Information phase and assessment preparation


Assessment phase


Certification phase


Renewal phase

1 The team of assessors must be:
  • Qualified and experienced in quality system auditing and experienced in welded fabrication
  • EWE/IWE or EWT/IWT with at least 3 years’ experience in welded fabrication and familiarity with quality management systems.
  • After approval, the assessors are registered in the Register of Assessors, according to their quality and engineering profiles and according to the products they are experienced on.

Why is it important to certify your company?
  • Many regulations, standards and specifications are now requiring manufacturers to prove they comply with ISO 3834 (e.g. EN 1090, EN 15085, EN 13445; ISO 17660).
  • Third-party certification isn’t mandatory but it provides a recognizable, credible and efficient way to show compliance.
  • It works as a confirmation of competence for companies’ welding activities.
  • It increases national and international business potential of companies through demonstrated compliance with the welding quality requirements of a wide range of product standards.